Team:Sao Carlos-Brazil/Attributions



Our finances commission was responsible for raising money for our team registration and project expenses. To do so, they’ve contacted potential sponsors and took care or our crowdfunding campaign. Also, the commission organized events to sell food and a party with the Biotechnology undergraduate students to raise funds.

  • Bruno Batista ⚫
  • Giovanna Christe ⚫⚫⚫⚫⚫
  • Ideli Zanesco ⚫⚫
  • Katiane Tostes ⚫⚫⚫⚫
  • Lida Manrique ⚫
  • Lucas Boldrini ⚫⚫⚫⚫
  • Lucas Oliveira ⚫⚫

Visual Design

The visual design commission was responsible for the creative ideas that built our team’s visual identity, including the creation of logos, team T-shirts, our color schemes and the wiki design.

  • Luana Menezes ⚫⚫⚫⚫
  • Lucas Oliveira ⚫⚫⚫⚫⚫


The Marketing commission took care of all our social media content as well as the design of our presentation posters.

  • Giovanna Christe ⚫⚫⚫
  • Isabelle Taira ⚫
  • Katiane Tostes ⚫⚫
  • Lida Manrique ⚫⚫⚫
  • Lucas Oliveira ⚫⚫⚫⚫⚫
  • Samuel Pratavieira ⚫⚫⚫


Wiki commission was responsible the writing of most of our wiki texts, aside from implementing the necessary tools for the proper functioning and presentation of our wikipage.

  • Bruno Batista ⚫
  • Fernando Souza ⚫⚫
  • Giovanna Christe ⚫⚫
  • Ideli Zanesco ⚫
  • Isabelle Taira ⚫
  • Luana Menezes ⚫⚫⚫⚫⚫
  • Lucas Boldrini ⚫
  • Lucas Oliveira ⚫⚫⚫

Human Practices

The Human Practices commission worked to get our project closer to the community, by conducting activities related to our project theme. They also have done deep research on national and international biosafety laws, as well as get in touch with Brazilian agencies to discuss our laws and propose ways to make them better.

  • Giovanna Christe ⚫⚫⚫⚫⚫
  • Ideli Zanesco ⚫⚫⚫⚫⚫
  • Katiane Tostes ⚫⚫⚫⚫⚫
  • Lida Manrique ⚫⚫⚫⚫
  • Lucas Boldrini ⚫⚫
  • Samuel Pratavieira ⚫⚫⚫⚫


The modeling commission worked on all the mathematical modeling of our biological circuits

  • Herson Sanabria ⚫⚫⚫
  • João Pedro do Valle ⚫⚫⚫⚫⚫

Dry Lab

Dry Lab commission was responsible for the design of the parts and circuits used on our project, as well as the data analysis of our experiment results

  • Bruno Batista ⚫⚫⚫⚫⚫
  • Fernando Souza ⚫⚫⚫⚫
  • Ideli Zanesco ⚫
  • Isabelle Taira ⚫⚫⚫⚫⚫
  • Katiane Tostes ⚫
  • Lucas Boldrini ⚫⚫⚫⚫⚫
  • Samuel Pratavieira ⚫

Wet Lab

The Wet Lab commission worked hands-on on our experiments in the lab, also being responsible for the delineation of our experimental conditions

  • Isabelle Taira ⚫⚫⚫⚫⚫
  • Lucas Boldrini ⚫⚫⚫⚫⚫

Advisors and Instructors

  • Marlon Zampieri (Advisor): Marlon has a degree in Biology and has helped our team mainly with project inputs, marketing and finances
  • Murilo Leão (Advisor): Murilo is currently getting his master's degree in Prof. Dr. Otavio Thiemann's lab. He has helped the team with all laboratory procedures done during the project.
  • Dr. Ana Carolina Carvalho (Instructor): Dr. Ana is a researcher at Astrolab (Astrobiology Lab), where she has helped us with the experiments related to the survival of our yeast to ultraviolet radiation
  • Dr. Francis Nunes (Primary PI): Professor Nunes is a veteran on iGEM competitions, being the PI of UFSCar teams in 2014 and 2015. He has helped us with the competition requirements, directing us to the right paths to follow, as well as with bureaucratic procedures inside our university.
  • Dr. Otavio Thiemann (Secondary PI): Professor Thiemann provided to us all the equipment and material needed for the execution of our experiments in his laboratory at the São Carlos Institute of Physics (IFSC)

  • Cibele Zolnier (iGEM Mentor): as a former member of USP-EEL's iGEM Team, Cibele was our designated mentor by iGEM. She was of great help to us, always clarifying our doubts about the competition and giving insights and tips in general to the project. She has even traveled all the way from Lorena to São Carlos (a 5-hour drive!) just to meet our team members once.


We didn't do all this work by ourselves. We had the help of many amazing people and we would like to dedicate this section to leave our SPECIAL THANKS to every and each one of them.

Allan Edver Mello dos Santos (CTNBio/MCTIC Analist) / Professor Chris Tinney (Australian Centre for Astrobiology) / Dr. Cleslei Fernando Zanelli (FCFar-UNESP) / Dr. Célio Dias Santos Junior (PPGGEv UFSCar) / Dr. Ivan Glaucio Paulino Lima (NASA Ames Research Center) / Dr. Rubens José Nascimento (CTNBio) / Emerson David Costa Claro do Nascimento (COBRUF) / Evandro Silva (Astrolab) / Guilherme Engelberto Kundlatsch (iGEM Ambassador Emeritus) / Henrique Berbert de Amorim Neto (Fermentec President) / Jorge Gagliarde (INPE) / Julia de Moura Caetano / Manuel Giménez (iGEM LATAM Ambassador) / Marcel Salmeron Lorenzi (Fermentec PMO) / Dr. Marlene Aparecida Demenis Baptistella (Cerradinho Bioenergia S/A) / Marina de Toledo Ferraz Dellias (Fermentec Molecular Biology Researcher) / Mário Lúcio Lopes (Fermentec Scientific Director) / Matheus Pedrino Gonçalves (PPGGEv UFSCar) / Dr. Petra Rettberg (German Aerospace Center) / Dr. Piers Millett (iGEM Foundation) / Profa. Dra. Andrea Cristina Peripato (DGE UFSCar) / Prof. Dr. Anderson Ferreira da Cunha (DGE UFSCar) / Prof. Dr. Fabio Rodrigues (IQ USP) / Prof. Dr. Ricardo Carneiro Borra (DGE-UFSCar) / Silvia Luemi Nakamura / Suelen Fernandes Silva (FCFar-UNESP) / Susana Andrea Sculaccio Beozzo (IFSC USP) / Vanessa Moreira Costa Diana (Fermentec’s Microorganism Database Curator) / Vinícius Marquioni Monteiro (PPGGEv UFSCar) / Yukio Meira (ONOVOLAB T.E.C.O)